Role of Sport Fishing Baskatong Reservoir inc.

Creation of the Baskatong Reservoir Community Wildlife Area

The Baskatong reservoir was formed during the construction of the Mercier dam in 1927.

In the 1990s, the continual increase in pressure on sport fishing had reached such a level that it became imperative to find a solution for the preservation of the resource, in order to guarantee quality fishing for current generations and to come up.

It is with this in mind that the Baskatong Reservoir Community Wildlife Area (AFC) was created in 1998, in collaboration with the Ministry of the Environment and Wildlife.

Mission of the corporation

In order to administer the AFC of the Baskatong Reservoir, a non-profit corporation was founded under the name of Pêche sportive du Réserve Baskatong inc. The latter's mission is to:

  • Take charge of the management of sport fishing on AFC territory;

  • Contribute to the conservation and protection of the resource in order to finance the restoration of fishing potential;

  • Promote sport fishing activities while respecting equitable accessibility for all users.

Based on the user-pay principle, the corporation devotes a minimum of 75% of its income to the development, restoration and protection of wildlife. This, through stocking activities ( which ended on April 1, 2017), habitat development, surveillance, protection, education, tagging walleye in order to assess their movements, their fidelity to spawning grounds and their size. The rest of the income is spent on administration (the latter may in no case exceed 25%).

In order to respect its mandate to ensure quality fishing and promote respect for wildlife on the part of users, the corporation carries out increased surveillance of the AFC of the Baskatong reservoir. Wildlife protection assistants patrol the entire body of water and are responsible for issuing offense reports when necessary. Failure to respect catch quotas, possession of fish exceeding the permitted limit, as well as failure to respect sanctuaries and spawning grounds are punishable by fines. (See the fishing and regulations tab)

Walleye harvest increases

During the 2008 summer fishing season, the AFC and the Ministry of Wildlife (MFFP) joined forces to reassess the situation of the walleye population, which is sought after by 99% of the fishermen interviewed. AFC staff conducted a field survey to estimate fishing effort and harvest, while MFFP staff produced work protocols, performed biological measurements and interpreted the results. This assessment follows that of 2004 which concluded that the walleye population was very exploited and that vigilance was required.

During the summer of 2008, we estimate a fishing effort of about 45,000 days / fisherman, up slightly compared to 2004. Nearly 80,000 walleye were caught, of which about 52,000 were kept. up from 2004. Sport fishermen caught on average just under 2 walleye per day / fisher. The minimum size at capture saved nearly 30,000 fish that were released. In 2012/2013, 130,000 walleye, of which 35,000 would have been preserved, so 95,000 walleye returned to the water. Sport fishermen caught an average of 3 walleye per day each.

The walleye population is highly exploited

The population density of walleye in the AFC has increased since 2004. However, fish are getting younger and older fish are declining, especially females of reproductive age.


Walleye that were tagged by AFC staff in the spring of 2008 at the Ceizur rapid in the Gatineau River were recaptured throughout AFC territory, confirming the importance of this spawning ground for the entire region. 'AFC and that walleye move inside the 6 lakes that make up the AFC (the pilot project has been renewed for the next 5 years, from 2017 to 2022)

Mortality is high at nearly 50%, which means that each year, half of the fish present at the start of the season will die before the following season. The mortality measured in 2008 is comparable to that of 2004, but it has doubled since 1989. The mortality rate of females appears to be higher than that of males. The tagging of walleye made it possible to estimate the proportion of fish caught by line, it was found that two thirds of mortality is due to sport fishing and that fishing-related mortality is four times higher in 2008 than it was in 1989.

The situation is acceptable, but we must remain vigilant

The stability of mortality since 2004 and the increase in density of young walleye suggest that there is no problem of reproduction within the population and it is hoped that it will continue to support exploitation.

The issue of females of reproductive age is, however, worrying. Their mortality rate is higher than that of males and their number is decreasing in the population. Unable to establish the minimum number of females necessary to maintain the population, regular monitoring of the evolution of the situation remains necessary.

2018 review

This is our 21st year of operation. The AFC is well established in the territory and well accepted by the user public.

The general assembly of members (holders of "authorization to fish")
takes place on the 2nd Saturday of April.

Documents to download :

Changes to all 2019 financial statements

A) Total "fishing authorizations" sold 13,811 authorizations

   

B) Total revenues $ 248,501

   

C) Total expenses $ 249,963

Administration $ 50,569

Enhancement, surveillance, protection and education $ 131,469

Fishing management $ 29,445

Interpretation center $ 13,349. 1

Depreciation of fixed assets $ 25,131

Deficit : $ 1,462

Board of directors

The board of directors of the management corporation is made up of 11 members duly mandated by the respective circles. General assemblies of members (holders of a fishing license) take place on the 2nd Saturday of April of each year.

Distribution of board seats

Users – fishermen

Vacationers – fishermen

Outfitters

2 members
Delegated by the Quebec Federation of Hunters and Fishermen and from its Regional Councils (Laurentides and Outaouais)

1 member
Elected from among the participants in the corporation's annual meeting;

2 members
One member per MRC, appointed and delegated by all the vacationers who are members of one or more associations;

Para – municipal

4 members
Delegated by the Association des Pourvoiries du Baskatong Inc.

2 members
Appointed and delegated by each MRC (Antoine – Labelle and Vallée de la Gatineau)

Board of directors

Mme. Jocelyne Lyrette (MRC)

M. Steve Giguère (villégiateur)

M. Éric Naudin (A.P.B.)

M. Rock Paquette (A.P.B.)

M. Henri Mery (FÉDÉCP)

Mr Franck Leitner (A.P.B.)

M. Daniel Pelletier (A.P.U.B.S.)

M. Jean-François Thibeault (FÉDÉCP)

M. Michel Dion (MRC)

Prochainement élu(e) (A.P.B)

Prochainement élu(e) (A.P.U.B.S)

President

Vice-president

Treasurer

Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

Rôle de Pêche sportive du réservoir Baskatong inc.

Création de l'Aire faunique communautaire du réservoir Baskatong

Le réservoir Baskatong s'est formé lors de la construction du barrage Mercier en 1927.

Dans les années '90, l'augmentation continuelle de la pression sur la pêche sportive avait atteint un niveau tel qu'il devenait impératif de trouver une solution pour la préservation de la ressource, afin de garantir une pêche de qualité pour les générations actuelles et à venir.
 

C'est dans cette perspective que fut créé en 1998 l'Aire faunique communautaire* (AFC) du reservoir Baskatong, en collaboration avec le Ministère de l'Environnement et de la Faune.

Mission de la corporation

Afin d'administrer l'AFC du réservoir Baskatong, une corporation sans but lucratif a été fondée sous le nom de Pêche sportive du réservoir Baskatong inc. Cette dernière a pour mission de:
 

  • Prendre en charge la gestion de la pêche sportive sur le territoire de l'AFC;

  • Contribuer à la conservation et à la protection de la ressource, afin de financer la restauration des potentiels halieutiques;

  • Mettre en valeur les activités de la pêche sportive dans le respect d'une accessibilité équitable pour tous les utilisateurs.
     

Basée sur le principe de l'utilisateur-payeur, la corporation consacre un minimum de 75% de ses revenus à la mise en valeur, la restauration et la protection de la faune. Ceci, à travers des activités d'ensemencement, qui ont pris fin le 1 avril 2017, d'aménagement des habitats, de surveillance, de protection et d'éducation, l'étiquetage de doré afin d'évaluer leur déplacement, leur fidélité aux frayères, ainsi que leur dimension. Le reste des revenus sont consacrés à l'administration (ces derniers ne peuvent en aucun cas dépasser les 25%).
 

Afin de respecter son mandat d'assurer une pêche de qualité et promouvoir le respect de la faune de la part des utilisateurs, la corporation effectue une surveillance accrue de l'AFC du réservoir Baskatong. Des assistants à la protection de la faune patrouillent l'ensemble du plan d'eau et sont responsables d'émettre des constats d' infractions lorsque nécessaire. Le non-respect des quotas de prises, la possession de poissons dépassant la limite permise de même que le non-respect des sanctuaires et frayères sont passibles d'amendes.

La récolte du doré jaune augmente

Au cours de la saison de pêche d'été 2008, l'AFC et le Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF) ont uni leurs efforts pour réévaluer la situation de la population de doré jaune qui est recherché par 99% des pêcheurs interrogés. Le personnel de l'AFC a réalisé une enquête sur le terrain pour estimer l'effort de pêche et la récolte, alors que le personnel du MRNF a produit les protocoles de travail, procédé aux mesures biologiques et interprété les résultats. Cette évaluation fait suite à celle de 2004 qui avait conclu que la population de doré jaune était très exploitée et que la vigilance était de mise.
 

Au cours de l'été 2008, on estime un effort de pêche d'environ 45 000 jours/pêcheur, en légère hausse par rapport à 2004. Il s'est capturé près de 80 000 dorés jaunes dont environ 52 000 auraient été conservés, en hausse par rapport à 2004. Les pêcheurs sportifs ont capturé en moyenne un peu moins de 2 dorés par jour/pêcheur. La taille minimum à la capture a permis d'épargner près de 30 000 poissons qui ont été relâchés. En 2012/2013, 130 000 dorés jaunes dont 35 000 auraient été conservés, donc 95 000 dorés remis à l'eau. Les pêcheurs sportifs ont capturé en moyenne 3 dorés par jour chacun.

La population de doré jaune est très exploitée

La densité de population du doré jaune dans l'AFC a augmenté depuis 2004. Par contre, les poissons sont de plus en plus jeunes et les vieux poissons se font moins nombreux, en particulier les femelles en âge de se reproduire.


Les dorés jaunes qui ont été marqués par le personnel de l'AFC au printemps 2008 au rapide Ceizur dans la rivière Gatineau, ont été recapturés sur tout le territoire de l'AFC, confirmant l'importance de cette frayère pour l'ensemble de l'AFC et que les dorés se déplacent à l'intérieur des 6 lacs qui composent l'AFC (le projet pilote a été reconduit pour les 5 prochaines années, de 2017 à 2022)
 

La mortalité est élevée à près de 50 %, ce qui veut dire que chaque année, la moitié des poissons présents en début de saison mourront avant la saison suivante. La mortalité mesurée en 2008 est comparable à celle de 2004, mais elle a doublé depuis 1989. Le taux de mortalité des femelles semble plus élevé que celui des mâles. Le marquage des dorés jaunes a permis d'estimer la proportion des poissons capturés à la ligne, on a constaté que les deux tiers de la mortalité sont dus à la pêche sportive et que la mortalité liée à la pêche est quatre fois plus élevée en 2008 qu'elle ne l'était en 1989.

La situation est acceptable, mais il faut demeurer vigilants

La stabilité de la mortalité depuis 2004 et l'augmentation de densité des jeunes dorés jaunes suggèrent qu'il n'y a pas de problème de reproduction au sein de la population et on peut espérer qu'elle continue à supporter l'exploitation.
 

La question des femelles en âge de se reproduire est toutefois préoccupante. Leur taux de mortalité est plus élevé que celui des mâles et leur nombre décroît dans la population. Ne pouvant établir la quantité minimale de femelles nécessaires pour assurer le maintien de la population, un suivi régulier de l'évolution de la situation demeure nécessaire.

Bilan 2018

Changements de l'ensemble des états financiers de 2018

A)Total des "autorisations de pêcher" vendues                      13 811

   

B)Revenus totaux                                                               259 561 $

   

C)Dépenses totales                                                            271 706 $

  Administration                                                                      44 017$

  Mise en valeur, surveillance, protection et éducation        163 608$

  Gestion de pêche                                                                24 561$

  Centre d'interprétation                                                         15 532$                                                         .1

  Achats d'équipements                                                         36 133$
 

  Déficit : 12 145 $

Conseil d'administration

Le conseil d'administration de la corporation de gestion est formé de 11 membres dûment mandatés par les milieux respectifs. Les assemblées générales des membres (détenteurs d'une autorisation de pêcher) ont lieu le 2e samedi du mois d'avril de chaque année.

Répartition des sièges du CA

Utilisateurs–pêcheurs

Villégiateurs–pêcheurs

Pourvoiries

2 membres
Délégués par la Fédération Québécoise des chasseurs et pêcheurs et issus de ses Conseils régionaux (Laurentides et Outaouais)

 

1 membre
Élu parmi les participants à l'assemblée annuelle de la corporation;

2 membres
Un membre par MRC, nommés et délégués par l'ensemble des villégiateurs membres d'une ou de plusieurs associations;

Para–municipal

4 membres
Délégués par l'Association des Pourvoiries du Baskatong Inc.

2 membres
Nommés et délégués par chaque MRC (Antoine–Labelle et Vallée de la Gatineau)

Comité administratif

Prochainement élu(e)

M. Rock Paquette (A.P.B.)

M. Éric Naudin (A.P.B.)

M. Sylvain Chartrand (FÉDÉCP)

Prochainement élu(e)

Mr Frank Leitner (A.P.B.)

M. Mario Lefebvre (A.P.B.)

M. René-Jean Deschênes (A.P.B.U.S.)

Mme. Jocelyne Lirette (MRC)

M. Steve Giguère

Président

Vice-Président

Trésorier

Administrateur

Administrateur

Administrateur

Administrateur

Administrateur

Administratrice

Administrateur

Liens rapides:
Le meilleur de la pêche c'est ici.
AFC BASKATONG 

Tous droits réservés AFC Baskatong 2019.

Suivez-nous sur Facebook

768px-F_icon.svg.png

Tel: 819. 438. 1177
direction@afcbaskatong.com